News and Announcements


The Center for Human Development Research has moved!

As of March, 2010 we are located in:

UT Behavioral and Biomedical Building
1941 East Rd., 2nd Floor
Houston,TX 77054

New Appointment Line: 713-486-2591

Archive News:

On October 30, 2008, Dr. Deborah Pearson will conduct two presentations at the annual meeting of the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry in Chicago, IL. The presentations are titled: "Executive Dysfunction in autism Associated with ADHD--not Autistic-Symptomatology" and "Relationship Between Global and Component Aspects of ADHD and Autism."

On March 13, 2007, Dr. Katherine A. Loveland was elected to the Board of Directors of the International Society for Autism Research (INSAR). She was elected to the position of Treasurer and will begin her two year term on May 4, 2007.

Lynne A. Cleveland, Research Coordinator, was recently selected to receive the Texas Association on Mental Retardation's 2006 Humanitarian of the Year Award for her work in promoting human welfare and social reform.

Dr. Katherine A. Loveland, Director of the Center for Human Development Research, was recently elected as a Fellow in Division 54 (Pediatric Psychology) of the American Psychological Association. With this election, Dr. Loveland is now a Fellow of APA in four divisions. The other APA divisions of which she is a Fellow include Division 7 (Developmental Psychology), Division 33 (Mental Retardation and Developmental Disabilities), and Division 3 (Experimental Psychology).

Rice University has named Janice Bordeaux, Ph.D. its new associate dean of program development in the George R. Brown School of Engineering. More information.

Deborah A. Pearson, Ph.D., was promoted, effective September 1, 2005, to the position of Professor (with tenure), Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, University of Texas-Houston Medical School

Deborah A. Pearson, Ph.D., was elected through Division 33 (Mental Retardation and Developmental Disabilities) of the American Association on Mental Retardation to the status of Fellow. The Fellow status is expected to formally take effect as of 1/1/06.

Congratulations are once again in order for Dr. Deborah A. Pearson who has received the 2005, Dean's Teaching Excellence Award. Dr. Pearson was also honored to receive this award in 1996 and 2000.

Charles Casat, M.D., has been chosen by the American Association of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry to receive the "Irving Philips Award for Prevention".  This prestigious award is given in recognition of work in the area of prevention of mental illness in children and adolescents. 


Home | News | Mission | Faculty | Staff | Labs | Current Research | Research Opportunities
Past Research | Abstracts | Clinical Services | Autism Facts | Affiliated Clinics | Helpful Links

Contact Rosleen.Mansour@uth.tmc.edu with comments or suggestions.

Privacy Policy | Open Records Policy | Legal Disclaimer | DMCA | Linking Policy | State of Texas | Statewide Search | Statutorily Required Reports
© 2003-present, Created by the Multimedia Scriptorium at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Last updated: