The Scoop: A Publication of the University of Texas Medical School at Houston

Archive 2012

Lead Story Date
In Memoriam: Dr. S. Ward Casscells 10-18-12
Rapini wins 2012 Founders’ Award 10-11-12
Blackwell named chair of Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology 10-04-12
Colasurdo named UTHealth president sole finalist 09-27-12
Dyer named chief of staff at LBJ Hospital 09-20-12
Dr. Patricia Butler appointed to LCME 09-13-12
UT Physicians opens new location in Cinco Ranch 09-06-12
Davis named director of Center for Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine 08-30-12
The big reveal is here! 08-23-12
Class 2016 by the numbers 08-16-12
Retreat registration open until Aug. 13 08-09-12
Barton, Blackburn named deans of GSBS 08-02-12
UT Physicians clinics accommodate patients on Saturdays 07-26-12
Regents recognize four Medical School faculty 07-19-12
TMC institutions win $20M CTSA renewal 07-12-12
LCME grants 8-year accreditation to Medical School 07-05-12
John P. McGovern Award: Gabriel M. Aisenberg, M.D. 06-28-12
Porche, ’85, named distinguished alumna 06-21-12
Herbert L. and Margaret W. DuPont Master Clinical Teaching Award: John Foringer, M.D. 06-14-12
Strobel honored by Capital Medical University, Beijing 06-07-12
Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award: Stefano Sdringola-Maranga, M.D. 05-31-12
Reveille elected to lead Pan American consortium 05-24-12
John Freeman Faculty Teaching Award: Joanne Oakes, M.D. 05-17-12
Savage named Schweitzer Fellow 05-10-12
Emergency medicine resident wins coveted global scholarship 05-03-12
Psychiatry residents advance to Mind Games finals 04-26-12
Cooley to address graduates at commencement 04-19-12
Medical School WordPress-es forward with new website 04-12-12
The “inside story” behind astronaut research 04-05-12
MS1 class joins hands with AIDS Foundation Houston 03-29-12
In memoriam: Dr. Frank Yatsu 03-22-12
Study: Prolonged space travel causes brain, eye abnormalities 03-15-12
Savitz named director of Vascular Neurology Program 03-08-12
Bayshore Family Practice joins UT Physicians, offers weekend hours 03-01-12
Postdoctoral fellows win travel awards 02-23-12
Dessauer named fellow of AAAS 02-16-12
New MOTIVATE clinic uses comprehensive approach to treat addictions 02-09-12
Art Wall Silent Auction starts Feb. 6 02-02-12
Annual Cardiology Preventive Forum focuses on “Million Hearts” 01-26-12
ADHD, Bipolar Disorder focus of Feb. 11 Psychiatry Update 01-19-12
Brain awareness public forum set for Jan. 21 01-12-12
Medical School researchers present at space biology meeting 01-05-12


Receive Scoop and other Medical School publications.

Scoop is a weekly electronic newsletter providing timely information to the Medical School.

Submit event items or news tips for Scoop by noon on Thursday preceding the week of publication in which you would like your event or news to appear (seven days in advance).

To submit content for Scoop, send an e-mail to

To find out more information about advertising on Scoop, please read this PDF.


Giuseppe N. Colasurdo, M.D.

Darla Brown
Director of Communications

Carlos Gonzalez
Web Developer II