The University of Texas Medical School at Houston
gray bar graphic

Milewicz Inducted into Association of American Physicians

Spotlight On...
Dr. Dianna Milewicz

Dr. Dianna Milewicz, the President George H. W. Bush Chair in Cardiovascular Medicine, recently was inducted into the prestigious Association of American Physicians (AAP).

Founded in 1885 for the advancement of scientific and practical medicine, the AAP Council each year nominates 55 individuals for membership.

"The honor is very well deserved, and we are again very proud of Dr. Milewicz," said UT Health Science Center President Dr. James Willerson.

Milewicz, who has been at the Medical School since 1991, is an internist with a subspecialty in human genetics. Her research focuses on identifying genetic variations that predispose individuals to vascular diseases, such as aortic aneurysms and dissections. Aneurysm is a bulging of the aorta that leads to dissection, a lengthwise separation of tissues in the artery wall. The condition often kills suddenly with no warning symptoms.

Milewicz is professor and director of the Division of Medical Genetics and the M.D./Ph.D. Program in the Medical School and the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences (GSBS). She was vice chair of the Department of Internal Medicine for four years. She was named a Doris Duke Distinguished Clinical Scientist in 2002, was elected a fellow of the Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine Program in 2004, and received the Distinguished Professional Woman Award from the health science center's Committee on the Status of Women in 2005.

In a note of congratulations on her most recent honor, Dr. Michael McKinney, senior executive vice president and chief operating officer of the health science center, wrote, "This distinction is a wonderful testament to your record of excellence and achievement. You continue to bring honor to the health science center and Medical School."

Ten others from the UT Health Science Center are members of the AAP: Drs. Frank Arnett Jr., Medical School; C. Thomas Caskey, Brown Foundation Institute of Molecular Medicine for the Prevention of Human Diseases (IMM); Herbert DuPont, School of Public Health and GSBS; Irma Gigli, IMM and GSBS; K. Lance Gould, Medical School; Ferid Murad, IMM, Medical School, and GSBS; Barbara Murray, Medical School and GSBS; Stanley Schultz, Medical School; James Willerson; and Kenneth Wu, IMM, Medical School, and GSBS.

--Ina Fried

View the Previous Medical School Headlines

Return to the Medical School Homepage

   Submit your events to the calendar

The University of Texas Medical School at Houston