The University of Texas Medical School at Houston Department of Emergency Medicine
Department of Emergency Medicine
The Department of Emergency Medicine

Fellowship Program

Come for a career…
Stay for an experience.

Our faculty provide double and triple attending coverage with resident support at two facilities totaling more than 120,000 annual visits. Memorial Hermann Hospital–Texas Medical Center is the only Level I trauma and tertiary care center in Houston with aeromedical receiving capabilities. With a full-service tertiary care center with primary stroke center designation, 24-hour cardiac care, and a recently opened heart and vascular center, Memorial Hermann–Texas Medical Center is the center of our residency program.

The Lyndon Baines Johnson General Hospital is part of the Harris County Hospital system and provides excellent opportunities for high-volume community emergency care.

Our recognized faculty participate in local, state, and national emergency medicine organizations and societies.

We maintain a departmental research focus in neuro- and cardiovascular emergencies, emergency department overcrowding and medical error, disaster medicine and its impact on the public health system, acute trauma and ultrasonography, and medical education and training through simulation systems. Our department presently holds one of the NIH’s NETT neurologic center’s grant.

Emergency medicine-sponsored fellowship opportunities are available in EMS Disaster Medicine, and Ultrasound. Leadership opportunities and training are available for medical and assistant medical directorships, educational, administrative, and research positions.

Our residency program recently has expanded to 18 residents per year. Opportunities for an academic career in Emergency Medicine include leadership positions in educational and program committees. Specialty clinical tracts are available for clinicians with dedicated or proven interest in residency growth and development on research.

Available Fellowships