UTHCPC page heaader graphic
language selection graphic
UT links on graphic


Inpatient Services

Outpatient Services

What is mental illness?

Research Opportunities

Employment Opportunities

News & Information


Volunteer Services


Helpful Links

Contact Us

Site Map

About UTHCPC page title graphic

Overview Mission, Vision & Values
History and Achievements



The hospital is operated and staffed by The UT Health Science Center at Houston and funded by the Texas Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation and Harris County.

Robert Guynn, M.D. - Executive Director

graphic of Dr. Robert GuynnRobert W. Guynn, M.D., professor and chairman of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at The University of Texas Medical School at Houston, is a recognized authority in the field of psychiatric medicine. He is also involved in basic biochemical research.
Guynn is executive director of The UT Harris County Psychiatric Center, a 250-bed psychiatric hospital that is jointly funded by the state and county and is staffed by The UT Medical School at Houston's Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences. He also directs The UT Mental Sciences Institute, where outpatient visits total more than 40,000 a year in the context of education and clinically oriented research.

Guynn serves on the Medical School's Clinical Chiefs Policy and Planning Committee and is an active staff physician at Hermann Hospital, the school's primary teaching hospital. He received his bachelor's degree in chemistry from Michigan State University in 1963 and his medical degree from Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in 1967. Guynn completed his internship in 1968 at University Hospitals of Cleveland (Case Western Reserve) and went on for residency training at Phipps Clinic, The Johns Hopkins Hospital, from 1968-70. From 1970-73 he was a clinical fellow at the National Institutes of Mental Health. He is board certified in psychiatry.

He joined The UT Medical School at Houston in 1973 as an assistant professor, became an associate professor in 1976 and professor in 1983. He was vice chairman from 1983-87. Guynn is a member of several professional organizations, including the Society of Neuroscience, American Society of Biological Chemists, Biochemical Society, American Chemical Society and Research Society on Alcoholism. He also is a member of the Harris County Medical Society (elected to Board of Ethics, 1988), American Psychiatric Association, Texas Society for Psychiatric Physicians, American Association of Psychiatric Administrators and the International Society for Biomedical Research on Alcoholism. Guynn was a charter member of the Texas Research Society on Alcoholism and served as membership committee chairman from 1981-82 and president from 1985-87. In 1986 he was elected a fellow of the American Psychiatric Association and in 1987 he was elected to membership in the American College of Psychiatrists. He served as president of the Houston Psychiatric Society in 1990.


Lois J. Moore BSN, MEd, LHD, FACHE - Chief Administrator

graphic of Lois MooreLois Jean Moore serves as UTHCPC's administrator and as such is responsible for the day-to-day management and operations of the center in support of its patient care, education and research activities. She also serves as the organization's principal liaison to the mental health, business, and general community.

Moore received a nursing diploma from Prairie View A&M's School of Nursing in 1957 and a Bachelor of Science degree in nursing from Texas Women's University in Houston in 1970. She earned a Master of Education from Texas Southern University in Houston in 1974. Moore briefly served as interim dean of Prairie View A & M's School of Nursing before joining UTHCPC in February 2000. Prior to that she held the post of president and chief executive officer at the Harris County Hospital District, where in four decades she rose from nurse to chief executive. As President and CEO of the sixth largest inpatient health care system in the U.S., Moore oversaw three hospitals, 11 community health centers, one freestanding HIV/AIDS treatment center, and eight school-based clinics.
Moore serves on numerous boards including the American Red Cross, March of Dimes, United Way, Texas Association of Public and Non-Profit Hospitals, and the National Association of Public Hospitals. She is a Fellow of the American College of Health Care Executives and is included in Who's Who in America. Moore was awarded the 1994 Tree of Life Award from the Jewish National Fund. In February 1995, she was named co-recipient of the Houston Area Healthcare Coalition's Healthcare Provider Award. In April of 1996 she was awarded an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters degree from Our Lady of the Lake University in San Antonio, Texas.

Moore has testified before national committees on health care reform, served on Governor Ann Richard's Task Force on Health Care, and is a frequent speaker on public health issues and health care reform.


R. Andrew Harper, M.D. - Medical Director

place holder for photo of future med director




2800 South MacGregor Way Houston, Texas 77021 phone: 713-741-5000 fax: 713-741-5939

HomeAbout HCPCInpatient ServicesOutpatient ServicesWhat is mental illness?Research Opportunities
Employment OpportunitiesNews & Information UTHCPC DepartmentsVolunteer Services

Giving to UTHCPC Helpful Links Contact Information Site Map

Email Us University Privacy Policy

If you have questions regarding the content of this site please contact the office of Public Information and Education. This site is maintained by the Management Information Services department of The University of Texas Harris County Psychiatric Center at Houston.
Updated: 09/06

Copyright © 1997 - Present The University of Texas Harris County Psychiatric Center at Houston